Where to stay to visit the landing beaches?

If, like us, you are a history buff, then visiting the landing beaches is certainly at the top of your to-do list. But this is not the kind of visit that is organized on a small day.

The landing beaches, history under your feet

The beaches of the Allied landings in Normandy are officially five in number. Two of them (Utah Beach and Omaha Beach) saw the Americans land, while the three others were stormed by the Canadian and English allies (Gole, Juno and Sword Beach). Between these 5 beaches and the rest of the places to visit related to the landing of 1944, you will have enough to satisfy your self of History. And one thing is certain: in one day, you will not have time to see everything.

So, where to stay to visit the landing beaches? Of course, you can choose one of the many hotels in the area. Or a small, classic guest room. Or, you can cut your epic in the 1944 landings back in time even further: stay in an authentic Norman castle, built in the late 16th century.

Stay in a castle classified as a historical monument

After a day discovering the landing beaches, extend the wonder by staying in our castle listed as a historical monument. You will find 4 suites of very high quality. The goal is not just to house you, but to offer you a unique setting that will make your stay "landing beaches" a truly unforgettable journey.

Sleep in rooms with period decor, stroll through the castle gardens for a truly special moment of relaxation.

Visiting the landing beaches is not done in a single day, we even advise you to plan a day for each beach, if you want to visit the surrounding cities a little.

For example, when you visit Omaha Beach, don't just stop on the sand. Come see the Colleville cemetery and pay homage to the valiant allies who fell in battle. Then wander around the city, eat a nice little dish in a seaside restaurant, sit back and enjoy the scenery while listening to the surf ... In short, take the time to enjoy the very special atmosphere of these places steeped in history.

The journeys from Bénéauville castle to the landing beaches

For Juno Beach, go through Bénouville and go to the motorhome parking, you will be close to the Juno Beach Memorial.

The ideal is to combine the visit of Gold Beach with that of Juno Beach. That said, if you want to go directly to the Stanley Holis Hut memorial of Gold Beach from the castle, here is a route.

Sword Beach, the third Canadian / English landing beach, is located between the two previous ones, between Ouistreham and Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer. To get there, we recommend this route, which will take you to the edge of the beach, a stone's throw away from Piper William's status.Photo de la statue de William Millin

Finally, let's go to the two beaches of the American landing.

here is a drive to the famous Omaha beach. It will take you to a free car park along the beach. You will find very close to two museums dedicated to the Allied landing that are worth seeing.

Finally, here is a trip to Utah Beach. Here, no need for parking: park by the road, there is plenty of room for everyone! We pointed this way to the Utah Beach Landing Museum.

In conclusion

The landing beaches are definitely worth a visit. They are imbued with a very special historical atmosphere, and staying in a place also out of the ordinary will undoubtedly help to make your trip a memorable moment.

Aller au contenu

Où loger pour visiter les plages du débarquement ?

Si comme nous, vous êtes mordus d’Histoire, alors visiter les plages du débarquement est certainement dans le haut de votre liste de choses à faire. Mais ce n’est pas le genre de visite qui s’organise sur une petite journée.

Les plages du débarquement, l’Histoire sous vos pieds

Les plages du débarquement allié en Normandie sont officiellement au nombre de 5.  Deux d’entre elles (Utah Beach et Omaha Beach) virent débarquer les américains, tandis que les trois autres furent prisent d’assaut par les alliés canadiens et anglais (Gole, Juno et Sword Beach). Entre ces 5 plages et le reste des lieux à visiter liés au débarquement de 1944, vous aurez de quoi contenter votre soi d’Histoire. Et une chose est sûre : en une journée, vous n’aurez pas le temps de tout voir.

Alors, où loger pour visiter les plages du débarquement ? Bien sûr, vous pouvez choisir l’un des nombreux hôtels de la région. Ou encore une petite chambre d’hôte classique. Ou alors, vous pouvez couper votre épopée dans le débarquement de 1944 en remontant le temps encore plus loin : logez dans un authentique château normand, construit à la fin du 16ème siècle.

Logez dans un château classé monument historique

Après une journée à découvrir les plages du débarquement, prolongez l’émerveillement en séjournant dans notre château classé monument historique. Vous y trouverez 4 suites de très haute qualité. L’objectif n’est pas simplement de vous logez, mais de vous proposer un cadre unique qui fera de votre séjour « plages du débarquement » un voyage vraiment inoubliable.

Dormez dans des chambres à la décoration d’époque, déambulez dans les jardins du château pour un instant de détente vraiment particulier.

Les trajets du château de Bénéauville aux plages du débarquement

Pour Juno Beach, passez par Bénouville et rendez-vous au parking de motorhome, vous serez à deux pas du mémorial de Juno Beach.

L’idéal est de coupler la visite de Gold Beach avec celle de Juno Beach. Ceci dit, si vous voulez aller directement au mémorial Stanley Holis Hut de Gold Beach à partir du château, voici un itinéraire.

Sword Beach, la troisième plage du débarquement canadien / anglais, se situe entre les deux précédentes, entre Ouistreham à Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer. Pour vous y rendre, nous vous conseillons cet itinéraire, qui vous amènera au bord de la plage, à un jet de pierre de la statut de Piper William.Photo de la statue de William Millin

Enfin, passons aux deux plages du débarquement américain.

Voici un trajet vers la fameuse plage d’Omaha beach. Il vous conduira à un parking gratuit en bordure de plage. Vous trouverez très proche deux musés dédiée au débarquement allié qui valent le détour.

Enfin, voici un trajet vers la plage d’Utah Beach. Ici, pas besoin de parking: garez-vous en bord de route, il y a amplement assez de place pour tout le monde ! Nous avons fait pointé ce trajet vers le musé du débarquement de Utah Beach.

En conclusion

Les plages du débarquement valent définitivement le détour. Elles sont imprégnées d’une atmosphère historique très particulière, et se loger dans un lieu lui aussi hors du commun aidera sans doute à faire de votre voyage un instant mémorable.

 

 

fr_FR
en_GB fr_FR